Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Tuesday, October 6, 2015

Feature and Giveaway: The Name of the Game by Jennifer Dawson

Some people follow the rules. . .

A professor of forensic anthropology, James Donovan is the reasonable sibling among the passionate, impulsive Donovans. But there's nothing reasonable about his reaction to baker Gracie Roberts. She's all wild curls and mouth-watering curves, as deliciously tempting as the sugary treats she's famous for--and twice as irritating. But before long, James decides that getting a taste of her is one indulgence he can't pass up. . .

Some people play to win. . .

Independent, smart, and sexy, Gracie's year-long dry spell has her itching for a man. Responsible, health-obsessed James? Not in a million years! She needs a guy who knows how to let loose! But when James sets out to show her just how satisfying a disciplined man can be when pleasure is at stake, she learns just how sweet--and spicy--he really is.

Have James and Gracie found the recipe for love?

Purchase: | Amazon | KindleB&N | iTunes | Kobo |

Review: Dirty Deeds by Karina Halle

Dirty Deeds is the second book in the Dirty Angels Trilogy by Karina Halle. Though this is the second book in the series, it can easily be read as a standalone. Dirty Deeds features Derek Conway and Javier's sister Alana. For fans of Karina Halle, The Artists Trilogy, and Dirty Angels, you do get to see some familiar faces. But those new to the series can start here with no problems. However, I would recommend starting at the beginning as I really think that it is great to have a little backstory on the life that Alana comes from and what it means to be Javier's sister. Not to mention the fact that I absolutely love Dirty Angels, Javier, and all things Karina Halle! 

Alana Bernal has had more than her share of family dysfunction and tragedy. As the sister of a drug lord, she knows just how bad things can get in Mexico. Though she has had plenty of hook-ups and sex, she has never had love. So when ex-soldier Derek Conway enters her life, she wants to believe that he could be it for her. But Alana has no idea who Derek really is or the reason they met in the first place. The more time that Alana and Derek spend together, the more their feelings for one another grow. With someone after Alana though she has no idea who she can trust, including Derek. But Derek is determined to protect Alana at all costs, even if that means putting her life above his own. 

I was very excited to get to know Alana and Derek more after hearing about these two in previous books from Karina Halle. Derek was sexy and protective, and I really liked seeing more about what had happened in his life. I always find it interesting to see how just a normal person can wind up in the most unexpected of places, and for me that was Derek. Here is a guy who grew up in Minnesota and loved hockey that went into the armed forces and wound up becoming a mercenary for hire in Mexico. It was fascinating to me, and the more that was revealed about his character the more I felt for him. He didn't have things easy, and he had been through so much. Alana was sort of the opposite of Derek, growing up in that life because of her brother and family yet always looking for something normal and as simple as someone to really love for her whole life. She was strong and sassy, yet she also had an almost fragile side to her. She had been through so much pain, and she wasn't close to the remaining family she had left. She only had her few friends to lean on, and while they were great they weren't everything. But Alana and Derek were great together, and I really liked how they completed each other. They had chemistry right from the start, and the more they got to know one another, the stronger their bond grew. 

Overall, I really loved seeing how things would play out here for both Alana and Derek. It was very clear that Alana was being targeted and that no matter what Derek did, that those after her would never stop. I never knew what would happen next, though I did know exactly who was behind it all right from the start. I am very curious to see what happens next though, after the way things were left her. Karina did a great job of setting up the next book in the series, and I can't wait to see just what lengths some of these characters will go to in order to get what they want. The battle seems to have just begun, and in this world we know that it will be dirty and brutal before it is all over. While I really enjoyed this book, it did have a different feel from Dirty Angels and it wasn't as dark as that one was. It definitely felt a bit like the calm before the storm. There was plenty of suspense to hold my interest, and I did really enjoy Derek and Alana together. As much as I liked them though, I will admit that Javier is still my number one even if he didn't make me super happy here. I am both excited and a bit scared to read Dirty Promises. I highly recommend this series though, and if you haven't already I would definitely suggest reading The Artists Trilogy and Dirty Angels. Karina Halle is one of my absolute favorite authors, and her stories are always well written and captivating. Dirty Deeds was a great addition to this series, and I am already looking forward to the next one.

Purchase: | Amazon | Kindle | B&N | Book Depository | iTunes | 

Monday, October 5, 2015

ARC Review: Ms. Manwhore by Katy Evans

Ms. Manwhore is the short and sexy conclusion to the Manwhore series from Katy Evans. This novella picks up after the first two books in the series and needs to be read in order. Saint and Rachel are finally together and things between them couldn't be better. So when Saint pops the question Rachel immediately says yes. But can one woman be enough for Saint forever? Or will he forever be a manwhore? 

This novella was really sweet and I have loved Saint and Rachel from the beginning. I enjoyed seeing them begin the next chapter of their life and seeing them as they planned their wedding. These two are absolutely perfect for one another, and that was never more clear than here. They continued to have the explosive chemistry that they have had from the beginning, but they also have a tenderness to them as well. These two were so great together, and the love between them is so special.

I will say that this one was a bit choppy feeling to me though, and it didn't have the same feel as the other books in the series. For some reason it just seemed to be disjointed and didn't flow as well as Katy's books usually do. It almost felt like cut scenes from a movie rather than a well flowing story. I did like that we got this ending for them and that we were able to see how far they have come. But I felt like this one could have been pieced together better than it was, and unfortunately I didn't think that it was what I was expecting here. I found myself wishing that this had been more of a story rather than what felt like a few scenes spliced together with glimpses of some of my favorite characters. I love Katy Evans and her books though, and I know I will read more from her in the future.

**ARC Provided by Publisher**

Purchase: | Amazon | B&N | Book Depository | iTunes | 

ARC Review: Irresistibly Yours by Lauren Layne

Irresistibly Yours is the first book of the Oxford series, which is a spin-off from Lauren Layne’s Sex, Love & Stiletto series. For all those, myself included, who fell in love with Cole Sharpe here you go. Lauren Layne hasn’t written anything that I don’t like, even her new adult I enjoy. This one is so funny and sexy with two people trying so hard not to fall in love with each other.

Cole Sharpe has been the freelance sports writer for Oxford for just about forever and when the higher ups decide to make a change and have more of a sports feature Cole thinks the job is his. That is until he finds out he has competition. Penelopeelope Pope is a daddy’s girl, tom boy at heart she is a sports guru, unfortunately she has always just been one of the boys, when her crush stole her job and lied by omission she decides a new job in a new city is just what she needs, and she never expected to find someone like Cole.

Cole and Penelope end up working together as co-editors for Oxford. Cole finds Penelope completely irresistible but he tries to keep it professional between them. But it seems like everyone is pushing them together. Cole approaches Penelope with the idea of a sex only relationship with the one stipulation that they are not allowed to fall in love. Penelope soon realizes that she had already broken the rule. She sees Cole for who he really is and loves him all the more for it, but is she is willing to risk heart on a man who may never love her back. Cole never wanted to fall in love but everything about Penelope calls to him but when something bad happens he freaks, plays a coward and pushes her away. Now he has to work overtime to prove to Penelope he’s worth the risk again.

Overall, I loved this book. Cole is so much more than I expected, Penelope is a hoot. Oh and those of us waiting for Lincoln’s story, this book hints at some things and I think the next book may be his. You cannot go wrong reading Lauren Layne.

**ARC provided by Publisher**

Purchase: | Amazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo |

Guest Post with Author Lauren Layne and Giveaway

Meet Lauren Layne author of Irresistibly Yours.

Lauren Layne is a USA Today Bestselling author of contemporary romance.  Prior to becoming an author, Lauren worked in e-commerce and web-marketing. In 2011, she and her husband moved from Seattle to New York City, where Lauren decided to pursue a full-time writing career. It took six months to get her first book deal (despite ardent assurances to her husband that it would only take three). Since then, Lauren's gone on to publish ten books, including the bestselling Stiletto series, with several more on the way in 2015.

Lauren currently lives in Chicago with her husband and spoiled Pomeranian. When not writing, you'll find her at happy hour, running at a doggedly slow pace, or trying to straighten her naturally curly hair.